COVID-19 UPDATE: Although we are working from alternate locations, we remain fully functional and look forward to helping you.

Below, we’ve provided a list of DWI Penalties and Refusal Penalties associated with the number of offenses for your reference.

DWI PENALITIES

First Offense: 

  • 90 day to 1 year revocation of New Jersey driving privileges
  • Up to 30 days incarceration term
  • $250 – $500 fines

Second Offense:

  • 2 year revocation of New Jersey driving privileges
  • Up to 90 day incarceration term
  • $500 – $1,000 fines

Third or More Offense: 

  • 10 year revocation of New Jersey driving privileges
  • Mandatory 180 day incarceration term
  • $1,000 fines

All DWI Convictions also carry:

  • Drunk Driving Enforcement fund fines
  • Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fines
  • Motor Vehicle Commission fines and surcharges
  • Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center
  • Mandatory counseling
  • State and Municipal fines

REFUSAL PENALTIES

First Offense:

  • 7 month to 1 year revocation of New Jersey driving privileges
  • $250 – $500 fines

Second Offense:

  • 2 year revocation of New Jersey driving privileges
  • $250 – $500 fines

Third Offense:

  • 10 year revocation of New Jersey driving privileges
  • $250 – $500 fines

All Refusal Convictions also carry:

  • Drunk Driving Enforcement fund fines
  • Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fines
  • Motor Vehicle Commission fines and surcharges
  • Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center
  • Mandatory counseling