DWI Law Firm in Bass River
DWI is a serious crime in New Jersey, and a conviction can wreck your life. Even a first offense DWI conviction will result in substantial fines and charges, limitations or revocation of your ability to drive, and even prison time. If you have been arrested for DWI, do not go to court without an experienced lawyer by your side. Your chances of beating a DWI charge are much higher when you have competent representation.
Bass River DUI Defense Lawyer
A DUI conviction in New Jersey is a serious matter.
For first-time offenders, greater blood alcohol levels (BAC) will lead to increased penalties. For a BAC of .08% -.09%, you face up to 30 days in jail, $250 -$ 400 in fines, loss of driving privileges for as much as three months, and possible Ignition Interlock on your car for six months or more.
A DWI conviction with a BAC of 1.0% or greater will involve increased fees and a longer suspension of your driver’s license. Ignition Interlock will be compulsory for at least six months if the BAC was 0.15%or higher.
Regardless of your BAC, you will be obligated to go to 12 hours of sessions at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and will be subject to a $1,000 insurance surcharge for three years.
Subsequent convictions will include compulsory jail time, up to ten years’ revocation of driving privileges and higher fines and costs.
A lot of jobs involved driving or handling machinery– a DWI conviction will lead to loss of your current job in those cases, and most likely render it very difficult, or even impossible, to work in a similar job later on.
New Jersey DWI laws also include driving while under the influence of recreational and certain prescription medications. Proving that someone is under the influence of drugs often includes “expert” testimony. Police officers may use a Drug Evaluation and Classification system developed by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration to look for signs and behaviors that are deemed to indicate intoxication. When a DRE testifies in a DWI case, it is important to have an experienced attorney who knows how to address this type of evidence.
DWI Defense Attorneys Near Me
If you have been arrested for DWI, it is essential to call an attorney right away. Make sure the lawyer you choose has specific experience in handling DWI cases. Never automatically assume that a DWI charge will inevitably lead to a conviction. A lawyer with expertise in defending DWI cases can review the evidence for illegalities and weaknesses. Even if you are initially charged with DWI, there may well be a chance to reduce the charges. Lawyer Tim Wintrode has many years’ experience as a prosecutor and defender of DWI cases and has knowledge of the law from both sides. DWI expert Tim Wintrode has assisted hundreds of people facing DWI charges. Call him for a free consultation at (609) 294-8300.