Brick Legal Pros for DWI Defense
A conviction for DWI in New Jersey can have a significant, even permanent, impact on your life. A person convicted of a first offense DWI can count on paying large fines, losing their driver’s license, and possibly going to jail. Do not face a DWI charge on your own– make sure you have a skilled DWI lawyer on your side. Your chances of beating a DWI charge are much greater when you have qualified representation.
DUI Lawyer in Brick
A DUI conviction in New Jersey is a serious matter.
For a first offense, the amount of alcohol in your blood (BAC) will determine the degree of the potential penalties you may face. For a BAC above the legal limit of.08% and below.09%, penalties include fines of $250-$ 400, up to three months’ suspension of driving privileges, and possible jail time. You may also be required to have an Ignition Interlock on your vehicle for up to one year after your driving privileges have been restored.
A DWI conviction with a BAC of 1.0% or more will involve higher fees and a longer suspension of your driver’s license. Ignition Interlock will be mandatory for at least six months if the BAC was 0.15% or higher.
All DWI convictions, regardless of BAC, involve 12 hours of drunk driving classes and a $1,000 insurance surcharge each year for three years.
Second and third offense DWI convictions include mandatory jail time, license suspension for up to ten years, and even higher fines and insurance surcharges.
Many jobs involved driving or handling machinery– a DWI conviction will lead to loss of your current job in those cases, and possibly make it very difficult, or even impossible, to work in a similar job in the future.
New Jersey DWI laws also include driving while under the influence of recreational and certain prescription drugs. Expert testimony by Drug Recognition Evaluators is commonly used as proof of intoxication. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) has designed a Drug Evaluation and Classification Program for law enforcement officers, designed to evaluate suspects for intoxication by observing indicators and actions that they have determined to be suggestive of impairment. A knowledgeable DWI lawyer knows how to react when the state tries to use DRE testimony.
DWI Defense Lawyers Near Me
It is important to consult a lawyer as soon as possible if you have been arrested or charged with DWI. You need someone who knows how to handle DWI cases. Never automatically assume that a DWI charge will result in a conviction. An attorney with expertise in defending DWI cases can analyze the evidence for illegalities and weaknesses. In some cases, a DWI charge might be reduced to a less serious offense, saving you a lot of money and avoiding the loss of your driving privileges. Attorney Tim Wintrode has successfully represented hundreds of people facing DWI charges and offers a free initial consultation. Call him today at (609) 294-8300.