Atlantic City DWI Defense Legal Professionals
DWI is a serious crime in New Jersey, and a conviction can ruin your life. In addition to heavy fines and loss of your driving rights, a first-time DWI conviction may result in jail time. If you are facing a DWI charge, you need an attorney with DWI knowledge working for you. Remember, a charge of DWI does not automatically mean that you will be convicted.
DUI Law Firm in Atlantic City
New Jersey law imposes hefty fines and possible jail sentences for DWI convictions.
For a first offense, the level of alcohol in your blood (BAC) will determine the severity of the potential penalties you could face. For a BAC above the legal limit of.08% and below.09%, penalties include fines of $250-$ 400, up to three months’ suspension of driving privileges, and possible jail time. You may also be required to have an Ignition Interlock on your car for up to one year after your driving privileges have been restored.
With a 1.0% or higher BAC, the minimum fine increases to $300 and the mandatory suspension of driving privileges increases to at least 7 months. If the BAC is 0.15% or higher, an ignition interlock will be mandatory for at least six months.
Regardless of your BAC, you will be mandated to go to 12 hours of classes at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and will be subject to a $1,000 insurance surcharge for three years.
Subsequent convictions will include compulsory jail time, as much as ten years’ suspension of driving privileges and higher fines and costs.
Conviction of a DWI offense will cause you to lose your job in many cases.
The offense of Driving While Intoxicated in New Jersey applies to substances other than alcohol, including recreational and prescription drugs. Expert testimony by Drug Recognition Evaluators is often used as proof of intoxication. The federal government has developed a classification system for police officers to recognize symptoms and behaviors of suspects in custody to determine if they are intoxicated of drugs. An experienced DWI lawyer knows how to respond when the state tries to use DRE testimony against you.
DWI Defense Lawyer Near Me
If you have been arrested or charged with DWI, do not talk to anyone until you have consulted an attorney. Make sure the lawyer you choose has specific experience in handling DWI cases. An experienced DWI lawyer can analyze the circumstances of your arrest and the evidence used to charge you and find any mistakes or flaws that can be used to your advantage. Even though you are initially charged with DWI, there may be a chance to reduce the charges. Top-rated DWI attorney Tim Wintrode worked as a prosecutor on countless DWI cases before moving into private practice and has the unique wisdom and experience that comes with understanding DWI cases from both sides. He has represented hundreds of people facing DWI charges. Call him for a free consultation at (609) 294-8300.