DWI Law Firm in Beachhaven
While DWI is a traffic offense, it carries considerable consequences which can affect every part of your life, from your employment to your relationships. In addition to hefty fines and loss of driving privileges, a first-time DWI conviction may result in jail time. Do not face a DWI charge alone– make sure you have an experienced DWI lawyer on your side. Never assume that a conviction is inevitable.
Beachhaven DUI Defense Lawyer
New Jersey law imposes considerable fines and possible jail sentences for DWI convictions.
For a first offense, the amount of alcohol in your blood (BAC) will determine the severity of the possible penalties you could face. The consequences for DWI with a BAC of .08% -.09% include fines ranging from $250-$ 400, suspension of your driver’s license for as much as three months, up to 30 days in jail, and a possible Ignition Interlock on your car for six months to one year after your driving privileges are restored.
If your BAC is 1.0% or greater, the fine increases to $300-$ 500, and your license will be suspended for 7 months to one year. Ignition Interlock on your vehicle will be compulsory, for 6 months to one year after your driving privileges have been reinstated.
Additional penalties for all DWI convictions, regardless of BAC, involve a $1,000 insurance surcharge for three years and 12 hours of classes at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.
Subsequent convictions will involve compulsory jail time, up to ten years’ revocation of driving privileges and greater fines and costs.
Many jobs involved driving or operating machinery– a DWI conviction will result in loss of your current job in those cases, and probably make it very difficult, or even impossible, to work in a similar job down the road.
New Jersey DWI laws also include driving while under the influence of recreational and certain prescription drugs. Often, DWI cases involving controlled substances rely on the testimony of Drug Recognition Evaluators. Police officers may use a Drug Evaluation and Classification process designed by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration to identify symptoms and behaviors that are presumed to indicate intoxication. Your attorney should have experience handling DRE testimony and know how to handle it to your advantage.
DWI Defense Attorneys Near Me
It is important to consult a lawyer as soon as possible if you have been arrested or charged with DWI. Make sure the lawyer you choose has specific experience in handling DWI cases. Do not automatically assume that a DWI charge will automatically lead to a conviction. A lawyer with expertise in defending DWI cases can scrutinize the evidence for illegalities and flaws. In many cases, a DWI charge might be reduced to a less serious offense, saving you a lot of money and avoiding the loss of your driving privileges. Attorney Tim Wintrode has many years’ prior experience as a prosecutor and defender of DWI cases and knows the law from both sides. Call the office of Pepe & Wintrode today at (609) 294-8300 for a free consultation.