Strathmere DWI Defense Legal Professionals
DWI is a serious offense in New Jersey, and a conviction can destroy your life. Even a first offense DWI conviction will result in serious fines and penalties, limitations or revocation of your ability to drive, and even prison time. If you have been arrested for DWI, do not go to court without a knowledgeable attorney by your side. Never assume that a conviction is inevitable.
DUI Law Firm in Strathmere
New Jersey law imposes considerable fines and possible jail sentences for DWI convictions.
For first-time offenders, greater blood alcohol levels (BAC) will result in increased penalties. For a BAC of .08% -.09%, you face up to 30 days in jail, $250 -$ 400 in fines, loss of driving privileges for up to three months, and possible Ignition Interlock on your car for six months or more.
If your BAC is 1.0% or higher, the fine increases to $300-$ 500, and your license will be suspended for 7 months to one year. Ignition Interlock on your car will be mandatory, for 6 months to one year after your driving privileges have been reinstated.
Additional penalties for all DWI convictions, regardless of BAC, include a $1,000 insurance surcharge for three years and 12 hours of classes at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.
Additional convictions will involve mandatory jail time, as much as ten years’ revocation of driving privileges and greater fines and costs.
A New Jersey DWI conviction can result in loss of your job and could make it harder for you to find a job. You might be forever banned from many jobs calling for operating a motor vehicle or equipment.
Driving under the influence of recreational or prescription drugs may also result in a DWI conviction. Often, DWI cases involving controlled substances rely on the testimony of Drug Recognition Evaluators. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) has established a Drug Evaluation and Classification Program for law enforcement officers, designed to evaluate suspects for intoxication by observing indicators and actions that they have determined as being suggestive of impairment. A knowledgeable DWI attorney knows how to respond when the state tries to use DRE testimony.
DWI Defense Lawyer Near Me
If you have been arrested or charged with DWI, do not talk to anyone until you have consulted an attorney. DWI cases are different from other criminal cases, and you need a lawyer who is familiar with DWI laws. Never assume that a DWI charge will inevitably result in a conviction. An attorney with experience in defending DWI cases can scrutinize the evidence for illegalities and defects. Even when you are initially charged with DWI, there might be a chance to reduce the charges. Call the office of Pepe & Wintrode today at (609) 294-8300 for a no-cost consultation.