Folsom Legal Reps for DWI Defense
A conviction for DWI in New Jersey can have a major, even irreversible, effect on your life. As well as substantial fines and loss of driving rights, a first-time DWI conviction may result in jail time. If you have been charged with DWI, do not go to court without a knowledgeable attorney by your side. Your chances of beating a DWI charge are much greater when you have qualified representation.
DUI Law in Folsom
New Jersey law imposes heavy fines and possible jail sentences for DWI convictions.
For first-time offenders, higher blood alcohol levels (BAC) will result in increased penalties. The penalties for DWI with a BAC of .08% -.09% include fines ranging from $250-$ 400, suspension of your driver’s license for up to three months, up to 30 days in jail, and a possible Ignition Interlock on your vehicle for six months to one year after your driving privileges are restored.
With a 1.0% or higher BAC, the minimum fine increases to $300 and the required suspension of driving privileges increases to at least 7 months. If the BAC is 1.15% and higher, an ignition interlock will be mandatory for at least six months.
Regardless of your BAC, you will be required to participate in 12 hours of sessions at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and will be subject to a $1,000 insurance surcharge for three years.
Additional convictions will involve compulsory jail time, as much as ten years’ suspension of driving privileges and greater fines and costs.
Many jobs involved driving or operating machinery– a DWI conviction will result in loss of your current job in those cases, and most likely make it difficult, or even impossible, to work in a similar job in the future.
New Jersey DWI laws also include driving while under the influence of recreational and certain prescription medications. Often, DWI cases involving controlled substances rely on the testimony of Drug Recognition Evaluators. The federal government has developed a classification system for law enforcement officers to detect symptoms and behaviors of suspects in custody to establish if they are intoxicated of drugs. A skilled DWI lawyer knows how to react when the state tries to use DRE testimony.
DWI Defense Law Firm Near Me
It is important to consult a lawyer as soon as possible if you have been arrested or charged with DWI. Make sure the lawyer you choose has specific experience in handling DWI cases. An experienced DWI lawyer can investigate the circumstances of your arrest and the evidence used to charge you and find any errors or weak spots that may be used to your advantage. In some cases, a DWI charge can be reduced to a less serious offense, saving you a great deal of money and avoiding the loss of your driving privileges. Top-rated DWI lawyer Tim Wintrode worked as a prosecutor on thousands of DWI cases before moving into private practice and has the unique insight and knowledge that comes with seeing DWI cases from both sides. Call the office of Pepe & Wintrode today at (609) 294-8300 for a no-cost consultation.