DWI Law Firm in Little Egg Harbor Township
DWI is a serious offense in New Jersey, and a conviction can wreck your life. As well as substantial fines and loss of driving privileges, a first-time DWI conviction may lead to jail time. Do not face a DWI charge alone– make certain you have a qualified DWI attorney on your side. Your chances of beating a DWI charge are much greater when you have competent representation.
Little Egg Harbor Township DUI Defense Lawyer
New Jersey law imposes heavy fines and possible jail sentences for DWI convictions.
For a first offense, the level of alcohol in your blood (BAC) will determine the severity of the potential penalties you could face. For a BAC above the legal limit of .08% and below.09%, penalties include fines of $250-$ 400, up to three months’ suspension of driving privileges, and possible jail time. You may also be required to have an Ignition Interlock on your car for up to one year after your driving privileges have been restored.
A DWI conviction with a BAC of 1.0% or higher will involve increased fees and a longer suspension of your driver’s license. Ignition Interlock will be required for at least six months if the BAC was 0.15% or higher.
All DWI convictions, regardless of BAC, involve 12 hours of drunk driving classes and a $1,000 insurance surcharge each year for three years.
Consequences for subsequent convictions involve compulsory jail time, suspension of driving privileges for as much as ten years, and even higher fines and costs.
Conviction of a DWI offense may also result in the loss of your job.
New Jersey DWI laws also include driving while under the influence of recreational and certain prescription medications. Establishing that a person is under the influence of drugs often includes “expert” testimony. The federal government has developed a classification system for law enforcement officers to spot indicators and behaviors of suspects in custody to ascertain if they are intoxicated. These officers may then testify in court as “experts.” An experienced DWI lawyer knows how to react when the state tries to use DRE testimony against you.
DWI Defense Attorneys Near Me
If you have been arrested for DWI, it is essential to contact a lawyer as soon as possible. Make sure the lawyer you choose has specific experience in handling DWI cases. Your attorney will have the opportunity to learn what evidence was used to charge you with DWI and will be able to ascertain whether the evidence was acquired lawfully, how to challenge certain evidence, and how to spot defects in the evidence that may result in a dismissal. In some cases, the charges may be reduced to a lesser offense that does not involve loss of driving privileges.
Top-rated DWI attorney Tim Wintrode served as a prosecutor on countless DWI cases before moving into private practice and has the unique insight and expertise that comes with having knowledge of DWI cases from both sides. He has successfully defended hundreds of clients facing DWI charges and offers a free initial consultation. Call right away at (609) 294-8300.