DWI Defense Law Firm in Seaside Heights
DWI is a serious crime in New Jersey, and a conviction can wreck your life. A person convicted of a first offense DWI can count on paying substantial fines, losing their driver’s license, and may even go to jail. If you are facing a DWI charge, you need an attorney with DWI knowledge working for you. Your chances of beating a DWI charge are much higher when you have competent representation.
Seaside Heights DUI Lawyer
A DUI conviction in New Jersey is a serious matter.
The consequences for a first offense DWI conviction may vary depending on your blood alcohol level (BAC). For a BAC of .08% -.09%, you face up to 30 days in jail, $250 -$ 400 in fines, loss of driving privileges for as much as three months, and possible Ignition Interlock on your vehicle for six months or more.
With a 1.0% or higher BAC, the minimum fine increases to $300 and the required suspension of driving privileges increases to at least 7 months. If the BAC is 1.15% and greater, an Ignition Interlock will be mandatory for at least six months.
Additional penalties for all DWI convictions, regardless of BAC, involve a $1,000 insurance surcharge for three years and 12 hours of classes at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.
Penalties for subsequent convictions involve compulsory jail time, suspension of driving privileges for up to ten years, and even higher fines and costs.
A New Jersey DWI conviction can lead to loss of your job and may make it harder for you to find employment. You may be forever prohibited from many occupations calling for operating a motor vehicle or equipment.
New Jersey DWI laws also encompass driving while under the influence of recreational and certain prescription drugs. Often, DWI cases involving controlled substances rely on the testimony of Drug Recognition Evaluators. Police officers may use a Drug Evaluation and Classification program designed by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration to identify symptoms and behaviors that are deemed to indicate intoxication. A knowledgeable DWI lawyer knows how to react when the state tries to use DRE testimony against you.
DWI Defense Attorney Near Me
If you have been arrested or charged with DWI, do not talk to anyone until you have consulted an attorney. DWI cases are different from other criminal cases, and you need a lawyer who is familiar with DWI laws. Never automatically assume that a DWI charge will automatically result in a conviction. An attorney with expertise in defending DWI cases can analyze the evidence for illegalities and flaws. In many cases, a DWI charge might be reduced to a less serious offense, saving you a great deal of money and preventing the loss of your driving privileges.
Attorney Tim Wintrode has many years’ experience as a prosecutor and defender of DWI cases and knows the law from both sides. Call the office of Pepe & Wintrode today at (609) 294-8300 for a no-cost consultation.