Jackson DWI Defense Legal Professionals
DWI is a serious offense in New Jersey, and a conviction can ruin your life. Even a first offense DWI conviction can result in considerable fines and charges, restrictions or revocation of your ability to drive, and even prison time. If you have been charged with DWI, do not go to court without a knowledgeable attorney by your side. Never assume that a conviction is inevitable.
DUI Law Firm in Jackson
A DUI conviction in New Jersey is a serious matter.
For first-time offenders, greater blood alcohol levels (BAC) will result in higher penalties. The consequences for DWI with a BAC of .08% -.09% include fines ranging from $250-$ 400, suspension of your driver’s license for as much as three months, up to 30 days in jail, and a possible Ignition Interlock on your vehicle for six months to one year after your driving privileges are restored.
If your BAC is 1.0% or greater, the fine increases to $300-$ 500, and your license will be suspended for 7 months to one year. Ignition Interlock on your vehicle will be mandatory, for 6 months to one year after your driving privileges have been reinstated.
All DWI convictions, regardless of BAC, involve 12 hours of drunk driving classes and a $1,000 insurance surcharge every year for three years.
Consequences for subsequent convictions involve compulsory jail time, suspension of driving privileges for up to ten years, and even greater fines and costs.
Conviction of a DWI offense will lead the loss of your job in many cases.
New Jersey DWI laws also encompass driving while under the influence of recreational and certain prescription drugs. Expert testimony by Drug Recognition Evaluators is commonly used as proof of intoxication. The federal government has developed a classification system for police officers to detect symptoms and behaviors of suspects in custody to ascertain whether they are under the influence of drugs. An experienced DWI lawyer knows how to react when the state tries to use DRE testimony.
DWI Defense Lawyer Near Me
If you have been arrested or charged with DWI, do not talk to anyone until you have consulted a lawyer. You need someone who knows how to handle DWI cases. Do not automatically assume that a DWI charge will automatically lead to a conviction. A lawyer with experience in defending DWI cases can scrutinize the evidence for illegalities and weaknesses. In many cases, a DWI charge might be reduced to a less serious offense, saving you a great deal of money and avoiding the loss of your driving privileges. Top-rated DWI lawyer Tim Wintrode worked as a prosecutor on thousands of DWI cases before moving into private practice and has the unique wisdom and knowledge that comes with understanding DWI cases from both sides. He has successfully represented hundreds of individuals facing DWI charges and offers free consultations. Call today at (609) 294-8300.