Longbranch Legal Pros for DWI Defense
DWI is a serious offense in New Jersey, and a conviction can destroy your life. Even a first offense DWI conviction will result in serious fines and charges, restrictions or revocation of your ability to drive, and even jail time. Do not face a DWI charge by yourself– make certain you have an expert DWI lawyer on your side. Your chances of beating a DWI charge are much higher when you have qualified representation.
DUI Lawyer in Longbranch
A DUI conviction in New Jersey is a serious matter.
For first-time offenders, greater blood alcohol levels (BAC) will result in greater penalties. For a BAC above the legal limit of.08% and below.09%, punishments include fines of $250-$ 400, up to three months’ suspension of driving privileges, and possible jail time. You may also be required to have an Ignition Interlock on your car for up to one year after your driving privileges have been restored.
A DWI conviction with a BAC of 1.0% or higher will mean higher fees and a longer suspension of your driver’s license. Ignition Interlock will be mandatory for at least six months if the BAC was 0.15% or higher.
Regardless of your BAC, you will be obligated to participate in 12 hours of sessions at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and will be subject to a $1,000 insurance surcharge for three years.
Additional convictions will include mandatory jail time, as much as ten years’ revocation of driving privileges and much higher fines and costs.
A New Jersey DWI conviction can lead to loss of your job and could make it harder for you to find a job. You may be forever prohibited from many occupations involving operating a motor vehicle or equipment.
Driving under the influence of recreational or prescription drugs may also result in a DWI conviction. Establishing that an individual is under the influence of controlled substances often involves “expert” testimony. Law enforcement officers may use a Drug Evaluation and Classification program established by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration to identify symptoms and behaviors that are presumed to indicate intoxication. An experienced DWI attorney knows how to respond when the state tries to use this type of evidence against you.
DWI Defense Lawyers Near Me
If you have been arrested or charged with DWI, do not talk to anyone until you have consulted a lawyer. Make sure the lawyer you choose has specific experience in handling DWI cases. An attorney will have the opportunity to learn what evidence was used to charge you with DWI and will have the ability to determine whether the evidence was acquired legally, how to object to certain evidence, and how to detect weak spots in the evidence that may bring about a dismissal. Even though you are initially charged with DWI, there might be a chance to reduce the charges. Top-rated DWI lawyer Tim Wintrode served as a prosecutor on thousands of DWI cases before moving into private practice and has the unique judgment and expertise that comes with seeing DWI cases from both sides. He has successfully represented hundreds of people facing DWI charges and offers free initial consultation. Call right away at (609) 294-8300.