Sea Isle City Legal Reps for DWI Defense
A conviction for DWI in New Jersey can have a significant, even lifelong, impact on your life. An individual convicted of a first offense DWI can expect to pay considerable fines, lose their driver’s license, and even go to jail. If you have been arrested for DWI, do not go to court without an experienced attorney by your side. Never assume that a conviction is inevitable.
DUI Law in Sea Isle City
New Jersey law imposes considerable fines and possible jail sentences for DWI convictions.
The penalties for a first offense DWI conviction may vary according to your blood alcohol level (BAC). For a BAC above the legal limit of .08% and below.09%, punishments include fines of $250-$ 400, up to three months’ suspension of driving privileges, and possible jail time. You may also be required to have an Ignition Interlock on your vehicle for up to one year after your driving privileges have been restored.
With a 1.0% or higher BAC, the minimum fine increases to $300 and the required suspension of driving privileges increases to a minimum of 7 months. If the BAC is 0.15% and higher, an ignition interlock will be mandatory for at least six months.
All DWI convictions, regardless of BAC, involve 12 hours of drunk driving classes and a $1,000 insurance surcharge every year for three years.
Penalties for subsequent convictions involve compulsory jail time, suspension of driving privileges for as much as ten years, and even higher fines and costs.
Conviction of a DWI offense will result in the loss of your job.
The offense of Driving While Intoxicated in New Jersey applies to drugs other than alcohol, including recreational and prescription narcotics. Establishing that someone is under the influence of drugs often includes “expert” testimony. The federal government has developed a classification system for police officers to spot symptoms and behaviors of suspects in custody to ascertain whether they are under the influence of drugs. Your lawyer should have experience in dealing with this type of testimony and know how to handle it to your advantage.
DWI Defense Law Firm Near Me
If you have been arrested for DWI, it is important to call an attorney as soon as possible. DWI cases are different from other criminal cases, and you need a lawyer who is familiar with DWI laws. Never automatically assume that a DWI charge will automatically lead to a conviction. An attorney with experience in defending DWI cases can analyze the evidence for illegalities and defects. Even when you are initially arrested for DWI, there might be a chance to reduce the charges. DWI expert Tim Wintrode has assisted hundreds of people facing DWI charges. Call him for a free consultation at (609) 294-8300.