Tom’s River Legal Reps for DWI Defense
A conviction for DWI in New Jersey can have a major, even lifelong, impact on you. An individual convicted of a first offense DWI can expect to pay substantial fines, lose their driver’s license, and even go to jail. Do not face a DWI charge alone– make certain you have a qualified DWI lawyer on your side. Never assume that a conviction is inevitable.
DUI Law in Tom’s River
A DUI conviction in New Jersey is a serious matter.
For first-time offenders, increased blood alcohol levels (BAC) will lead to increased penalties. For a BAC of .08% -.09%, you face up to 30 days in jail, $250 -$ 400 in fines, loss of driving privileges for up to three months, and possible Ignition Interlock on your car for six months or more.
A DWI conviction with a BAC of 1.0% or greater will mean increased fees and a longer suspension of your driver’s license. Ignition Interlock will be mandatory for at least six months if the BAC was 0.15% or higher.
Regardless of your BAC, you will be mandated to participate in 12 hours of classes at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and will be subject to a $1,000 insurance surcharge for three years.
Consequences for subsequent convictions involve compulsory jail time, suspension of driving privileges for up to ten years, and even higher fines and costs.
Many jobs involve driving or handling machinery– a DWI conviction will lead to loss of your current job in those cases, and probably render it difficult, or even impossible, to work in a similar job down the road.
Driving under the influence of recreational or prescribed drugs may also lead to a DWI conviction. Establishing that an individual is under the influence of controlled substances often involves “expert” testimony. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) has put together a Drug Evaluation and Classification Program for law enforcement officers, designed to evaluate suspects for intoxication by monitoring indicators and behaviors that they have determined as being indicative of impairment. Your attorney should have experience handling DRE testimony and know how to handle it to your advantage.
DWI Defense Law Firm Near Me
If you have been arrested for DWI, it is crucial to call an attorney right away. DWI cases are different from other criminal cases, and you need an attorney who is familiar with DWI laws. Do not automatically assume that a DWI charge will result in a conviction. An attorney with expertise in defending DWI cases can analyze the evidence for and flaws. In some cases, the charges may be reduced to a lesser offense that does not include loss of driving privileges. DWI expert Tim Wintrode has helped hundreds of clients facing DWI charges and is ready to help you. Call him for a free consultation at (609) 294-8300.