DWI Law Firm in Vineland
Although DWI is a traffic offense, it comes with substantial consequences which can affect every part of your life, from your employment to your relationships. As well as hefty fines and loss of driving privileges, a first-time DWI conviction may result in jail time. If you have been charged with DWI, do not go to court without an experienced lawyer by your side. Remember that a charge of DWI does not automatically mean that you will be convicted, especially if you have competent representation.
Vineland DUI Defense Lawyer
New Jersey law imposes heavy fines and possible jail sentences for DWI convictions.
For a first offense, the amount of alcohol in your blood (BAC) will determine the degree of the possible penalties you could face. The consequences for DWI with a BAC of .08% -.09% include fines ranging from $250-$ 400, suspension of your driver’s license for as much as three months, up to 30 days in jail, and a possible Ignition Interlock on your car for six months to one year after your driving privileges are restored.
If your BAC is 1.0% or higher, the fine increases to $300-$ 500, and your license will be suspended for 7 months to one year. Ignition Interlock on your vehicle will be required, for 6 months to one year after your driving privileges have been reinstated.
Additional penalties for all DWI convictions, regardless of BAC, involve a $1,000 insurance surcharge for three years and 12 hours of classes at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.
Consequences for subsequent convictions include compulsory jail time, suspension of driving privileges for up to ten years, and even higher fines and costs.
Many jobs involved driving or operating machinery– a DWI conviction will result in loss of your current job in those cases, and most likely make it very difficult, if not impossible, to work in a similar job in the future.
New Jersey DWI laws also include driving while under the influence of recreational and certain prescription medications. Expert testimony by Drug Recognition Evaluators is commonly used as proof of intoxication. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) has developed a Drug Evaluation and Classification Program for police officers, designed to evaluate suspects for intoxication by noting signs and actions that they have determined to be indicative of impairment. An experienced DWI lawyer knows how to respond when the state tries to use DRE testimony.
DWI Defense Attorneys Near Me
If you have been arrested for DWI, it is crucial to contact an attorney as soon as possible. Make sure the attorney you choose has specific experience in handling DWI cases. Do not automatically assume that a DWI charge will automatically lead to a conviction. An attorney with experience in defending DWI cases can scrutinize the evidence for illegalities and defects. In some circumstances, the charges may be lessened to a lesser offense that does not include loss of driving privileges. DWI expert Tim Wintrode has many years’ prior experience as a prosecutor and defender of DWI cases and understands the law from both sides. Attorney Wintrode has helped hundreds of clients facing DWI charges. Call him for a free consultation at (609) 294-8300.