Woodbine Legal Reps for DWI Defense
DWI is a serious offense in New Jersey, and a conviction can wreck your life. Even a first offense DWI conviction can lead to serious fines and charges, restrictions or revocation of your ability to drive, and even jail time. If you have been arrested for DWI, do not go to court without an experienced attorney by your side. Never assume that a conviction is inevitable.
DUI Law in Woodbine
A DUI conviction in New Jersey is a serious matter.
For a first offense, the amount of alcohol in your blood (BAC) will determine the severity of the possible penalties you might face. The penalties for DWI with a BAC of .08% -.09% include fines ranging from $250-$ 400, suspension of your driver’s license for up to three months, up to 30 days in jail, and a possible Ignition Interlock on your vehicle for six months to one year after your driving privileges are restored.
If your BAC is 1.0% or greater, the fine increases to $300-$ 500, and your license will be suspended for 7 months to one year. Ignition Interlock on your car will be mandatory, for 6 months to one year after your driving privileges have been restored.
Additional penalties for all DWI convictions, regardless of BAC, involve a $1,000 insurance surcharge for three years and 12 hours of classes at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.
Penalties for subsequent convictions involve mandatory jail time, suspension of driving privileges for as much as ten years, and even greater fines and costs.
Conviction of a DWI offense will cause you to lose your job.
Driving under the influence of recreational or prescription medication drugs may also result in a DWI conviction. Proving that someone is under the influence of controlled substances often involves “expert” testimony. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) has developed a Drug Evaluation and Classification Program for police officers, designed to evaluate suspects for intoxication by observing indicators and actions that they have determined as being indicative of impairment. When a DRE testifies in a DWI case, it is important to have an experienced attorney who knows how to address this kind of evidence.
DWI Defense Law Firm Near Me
If you have been arrested for DWI, it is essential to call an attorney immediately. You need someone who knows how to handle DWI cases. Do not automatically assume that a DWI charge will inevitably result in a conviction. An attorney with expertise in defending DWI cases can analyze the evidence for illegalities and defects. In some cases, a DWI charge may be reduced to a less serious offense, saving you a great deal of money and preventing the loss of your driving privileges. DWI expert Tim Wintrode has assisted hundreds of people facing DWI charges. Call him for a free consultation at (609) 294-8300.